TerraTrace has a deep respect for your privacy and we have taken significant steps to ensure that your information will stay safe.
Your data stays on Apple’s servers. We know that Apple has worked hard to create an environment that will protect your data on it’s servers so we take advantage of this by leaving it there. We do not download your data onto our servers.
We use your AppleID for your User account. That’s why you didn’t need to create a new account with us to use our services. You already have an account and it’s called your AppleID. All of your User Data is tied to your AppleID. This keeps all your information private and safe. We don’t have your name, e-mail, phone number or anything. We really don’t even have your AppleID because we are given a random string that represents your AppleID for our app. In case you were wondering, here’s what one looks like: _e97093ea3e2bdfabe1ed0e3275352f1d.
Because we don’t have access to your real identity, your data is safely locked up within Apple’s systems and we don’t even have any real way to contact you.
We CAN, however, remove your data from the servers if it violates our Media Content Guidelines and we can block your AppleID from using our applications if the violation is serious enough. Please see our media content policy if you have concerns.
Finally, we do not sell data to advertisers. One of the biggest hazards in today’s mobile application economy is the money to be made by selling your data. It’s a hazard for you because your data is what’s being sold. We avoid this hazard completely because we have no data to sell and it is against our policy to do so even if we did.
If you contact us, we will, of course, hold onto that contact information so that we can communicate. We will keep that information safely locked up on Apple’s servers too.
We are committed to keeping your data safe. We are currently taking steps to ensure compliance with the new European Union General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).
Specific information regarding your data:
All of your identity information is tied to your AppleID as described above. While using the GeoParks app, you will have opportunities to share information about yourself that becomes part of your User record in the app. Specifically:
You will have an opportunity to create a pen name which is how you will be known within the app. This name can be your real name or any name that you choose, it’s totally up to you.
You will have an opportunity to choose an avatar image which also represents you in the app. Both your pen name and avatar are saved to your User record and you can change them at any time.
You can share images that you’ve taken in one of the parks with other users of the app. Even though these images are shared, they remain under your control and you can delete or edit them at any time.
You can share comments about a park or trail with other users of the app. These comments also remain under your control and you can delete or edit them at any time.
If you see something posted that seems inappropriate or that you think violates our content guidelines, you can contact us so that we can fix the problem. When you do this, you can do it anonymously, or you can provide your e-mail if you want to hear back from us regarding the problem.